Success

Success & Meaning

The definition may be cultural, and even 
vary among individuals. I am reminded 
of a recent conversation I had with a
retired administrator of a large organization.
He informed me he felt like he never 
accomplished anything in his life. I 
highlighted his career and family 
accomplishments, which are many! He
reiterated that he could not see these
facts about his life being meaningful.
Positive psychology talks about this very
topic: the M in PERMA is about meaning.
What gives us meaning? Honestly, I was, and
to this day, remain baffled that this professional 
is perceiving his life as without meaning. As a
Christian, I can speak to this. This man is a
self described atheist. In my understanding,
only knowing Jesus Christ fulfills. The other
accomplishments are very meaningful, only
with Him as the core of everything we do.
This man is very dear to my family. I can only
pray understanding of this will come.