Happiness & Holidays

Holidays

Soon we will all hustle and bustle to 
shop, plan for special meals, events,
gatherings. I know I have a bunch of
them scheduled already. The statistics
show us that 83% of those surveyed 
value the holidays as time to spend 
with family. 33% of men, and 44% of
women report they get the holiday 
blues. 

How can we prevent this from 
happening in our lives today? 

Some coping skills based on fostering positive emotion, or the PERMA:

Be an optimist! Enjoy the tasks... make them 
fun. For example, I do not like crowds and
shopping malls with traffic, and fighting for a
traffic spot. My solution: online shop! Stay in,
invite friends and family over, play board games.

Also, let go of so much expectation. We are 
not perfect and this is ok if our planned meals 
and events are not as wonderful as we wanted 
in our planning phase. I do not think children remember the perfect food, decor or even gifts...I do believe we all remember the warm 
moments with family and friends and how we 
felt during those occasions.

Food for thought! We will continue with holiday 
planning on future articles!