Friends & Connection

We have to own it! Virtual friendships did not come from any particular generation! We all fell into the maze with the creation of social media.
When I lived in South Florida and hurricane 
Wilma hit, it took 3 weeks for full restoration of power. My condo at the time was near a hospital, so I had power within 3 days. My job was in community mental health, meaning I drove to family’s homes to provide counseling and social work. What happened was amazing. These were lower socio-economic neighborhoods, however I don’t believe the loss of power had a different effect. This effect of no power, no electronics, video games, tv, WIFI,..... what were kids to do? They went outside to play, and the 
parents took out the meat from their 
refrigerators and they started to grill sharing 
the food with neighbors. When I arrived for 
the home visits, all of my clients were elated 
with the experience. What was the experience? 

COMMUNITY

They got to know their neighbors,
break bread (or meat in this case), 
and enjoy the outdoor breeze. Yeah 
it was 70 and low humidity 
those days! The kids got to play the old 
school games I grewup with in the 
70’s and 80’s.

This is only the first installment of finding 
connection via friends and community.

Stay tuned☺️